Day 22

Day 22—GALAXY NAILS tutorial

I have been sittin on this mani idea for some time now. I finally decided to sit my butt down to do it. Here are the following items you will need.

day 22I have a watch glass here that somehow came home with me from one of my chemistry labs and I always forgot to bring it back. You don’t necessarily need a glass dish. I only like using these because I can keep using it without wasting paper. Either way a piece of paper works just fine.
IMG_7898I use vaseline to help remove excess nail polish on the skin especially when I know the polish can get everywhere.
IMG_7905Tweezers and makeup sponges. I usually like to tear up the sponge in to smaller pieces and the tweezers are to hold the sponge. not really necessary, but nice to have. Now for the tutorial. There are many takes on this manicure of course, this is just one interpretation of the galaxy in the tutorial. 
IMG_7907First i started with a base color of OPI Black Satin. I really like this color because it is a black, but it has a nice strong shimmer to the polish to add a little depth to the galaxy.

IMG_7910To get a little more depth out of the galaxy background I used OPI My Private Jet. It is a black polish with brown undertones and nice holo flakes in it to complete the starry galaxy.

IMG_7916For the galaxy dust effect I used OPI Oh, Waiter!, Sinful Colors Mint Apple (left), and OPI La Paz-itively Hot!

IMG_7917When using vaseline to help remove excess nail polish I usually like to apply it just below the cuticle and just outside the skin around the nail. Because it is an oily base it tends to spread after you apply it. So if you plan on applying vaseline I would recommend you do it after your base coat. If you get the oily base under all of your polish, it won’t stay on as long.
IMG_7920Using one drop of OPI Oh, Waiter! dab your piece of sponge with a little bit of polish. You don’t have to have a lot on it. The smaller amount can sometimes be better. It’s always easier to add more than it is to remove it. After you have the small amount on your sponge dab it lightly on your dry base coat. IMG_7922Here is my thumb. You can dab your lightest color in any way that you want. It helps to add a background, to give the other colors more pop and depth to the overall effect. IMG_7928

With your next color you use the same technique. Drip a droplet of polish on your glass, dab the sponge in the polish, then dab the sponge on your nail.
IMG_7929

Finish with your last color in random spots around your nail just to give it a little more color. And then top it off with a couple of glitter top coats. IMG_7931

Here I used essie Carnival and OPI Pirouette My Whistle for the large white hexagon glitters.

galaxy nails

To infinity, AND BEYOND!!

Happy polishing!

Leave a Reply

