Top this. ( Sorry for the long post)

Finally getting a chance to post this week. Things have become so busy since school is starting in 3 weeks. Plus I have been pushing myself to go to the gym everyday so I don’t have as much time to do my nails. BUT I don’t really need to either. I took these pictures yesterday.

Exactly one week from yesterday my newspaper manicure was still in top notch shape. Of course my nails grew out a little bit, but none of my nails were chipped or peeling. And I actually didn’t even use Chip Skip with this either nor did I apply a fresh top coat every day.  Finding the right top coat will ensure a long lasting manicure until you’re ready to take it off.

The other day someone asked me if it is ok if you use a base coat as a top coat. There are 2 in 1 formulas that can be used as a base coat and a top coat, but when you have a base coat only it would be in your best interest to not use it as a top coat. Most base coats are formulated differently than top coats. While most are used to prevent staining of the nail, some are also used to provide nutrients and vitamins to the nail. Other base coats also have matte finishes to allow a better adhesion of nail lacquer to the nail.

In this post I have topped my manicure with a base coat, OPI Top Coat and Seche Vite Top Coat.

First let me show you what my nails look like without any top coat. Here I have OPI My Address is “Hollywood”. This is a part of OPI’s newest collection Touring America which came out yesterday. I feel so cute and girly with this color on. This color actually reminds me of Barbie. The formula is perfect. Two coats is perfect to get the perfect amount of coverage and there is a very VERY  subtle flirty shimmer in this shade that I absolutely love.  And already you can see that this color has a nice little shine to it.

Next I painted one nail with my OPI Natural Base coat. There isn’t much difference between the no top coat and a base coat as a top coat. It doesn’t add much shine too the manicure and it doesn’t protect the nail lacquer from chips.

Next I used OPI Top Coat.

This top coat adds a bit more shine to the manicure. But also because it is formulated as a top coat, it will provide a protective barrier to your manicure to allow longer wear. My only problem with this top coat, however, was that it thickens up really fast. I’ve added thinner to it, but it is still acting up on me.

So that brings me to Seche Vite. I’ve heard many good things about Seche Vite Top Coat, but I needed to experience this “greatness” myself. So here is Seche Vite Rapid Dry Top Coat.

If you click on the pictures to enlarge the detail you should be able to seem more detail in the shimmer with this top coat. I have to say that the finish on it is also quite amazing. It leaves your manicure with that “wet” look like you just finished painting your nails and you are still waiting for them to dry. Two more things that I love about this top coat, it dries super fast and it protects your manicure like no other. I used this top coat on my newspaper manicure last week and that manicure was still going strong, but it was time for something new.

This is also the best top coat for glitters. On my accent nail I used OPI Servin’ Up Sparkle and Seche Vite provides a nice smooth finish on the glitter and keeps it sparkling.

Whew! Sorry for the long post and the super dry cuticles. =/

Happy polishing!

P.S. I’m sure you’ve noticed all the changes I’ve made to my blog. I hope it’s not too overwhelming for everyone. Let me know what you think! I’ve created an email account so if you guys have any questions for me feel free to email me at polishedme.ky@gmail.com or follow me on fb!!

One thought on “Top this. ( Sorry for the long post)

Leave a Reply

